top of page
  • kkdotan

Thank you, TTMA!

November 2, 2023


Today I return to my keyboard with immense joy and appreciation, as I get to share some very exciting news! I am beyond honored and thrilled to announce that I am the first CSUN student to be awarded a new scholarship, created in partnership with CSUN RTM and the Travel and Tourism Marketing Association (TTMA).


Their website notes the following:

The Travel and Tourism Marketing Association (TTMA), is a Southern California membership association focused on collaboration, networking, and education on trends and issues in the industry, presented by expert speakers at monthly luncheon meetings.


I had the absolute pleasure of attending the TTMA Awards Luncheon, honoring a number of esteemed individuals in the tourism industry, including Javier Cano, General Manager of the Ritz-Carlton and JW Marriott Los Angeles. The luncheon took place at the historic Los Angeles Petersen Automotive Museum. It was an amazing experience, getting to hear about the museum's history. The room was filled with individuals who have succeeded in the tourism industry, all with careers I could only dream of someday achieving! Many of the attendees congratulated me on winning the scholarship, encouraging me to continue in my pursuits. I cannot even begin to describe how much these kind gestures meant to me. As a college student, dreaming behind a keyboard, having a room full of successful individuals encourage me and discuss career options that meet my interests, was beyond inspirational.


I owe immense thanks to Dr. Nathan Martin, RTM Department Chair for attending this luncheon with me and introducing me to so many amazing individuals. I would also like to thank Dr. Joong-won Lee, committee member and RTM Professor. Dr. Lee never fails to encourage me and see my potential as an individual. I would not be where I am without his amazing teachings and encouragement. I would also love to extend my thanks to Dr. Veda Ward and Reneé Peace, RTM Committee members.


Most of all, I would like to extend immense thanks and gratitude to Carlos Montenegro, President of TTMA, Lauren Schlau, Vice President of TTMA, and all of the individuals at TTMA who took a chance on me by awarding me this scholarship.


As someone with a deep love of writing, travel, and history, I look forward to combining these passions in my career someday. I feel that I am one step closer to achieving my dreams, thanks to the immense generosity of TTMA and the RTM Department.


Visit https://www.ttma.org/ for more information about TTMA and the opportunities they are creating for our community!





139 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page